Procrastination and Failing in Life

Procrastination and Failing in Life
0.0 0

(Wilson Ng) #1

I have a confession to make. I don’t want to be a loser.

:notes: Soy un perdedor. I’m a loser baby, so why don’t you kill me. :notes: - Beck

I don’t like failing. But failure is a part of life. It’s not something I enjoy but I am coming around to accepting it. I’m afraid of failure. I’m afraid of uncertainty. I’m afraid of doubt. Fear is the main root of why I procrastinate a lot on big projects. Sometimes, I’ll get assigned to a project that I have no knowledge of. It feels like a project that is outside my comfort zone. It’s a new project that demands skills that I don’t have. I’m gonna be found out as a failure because I have no clue what I’m doing. Yet, I was assigned to this big project because other people have the utmost confidence in me. They think I can pull a rabbit out of a hat…

pixabay.com

My fear of failure has been a great psychological barrier for most of my life. I don’t want let other people down. I don’t want to look like I’m a failure If I don’t get it right the first time. But I think I can accept it. We fail all the time in life - big and small. I might not be able to take my kids to Disneyland this weekend. I might have yelled at someone in frustration but it wasn’t their fault. I might turn in disastrous results because I don’t know what I’m doing. I usually think that I only had one shot to get it right. If I’m gonna do it, I’d better do it right the first time.

Why do I procrastinate on big projects? So far, I’ve identified two issues that greatly affect me.

1. Fear of failure

I’m always scared of not being able to complete a big project because I suck at it. I keep trying to tell myself that I don’t want end up a loser or a failure. But s\•\•t happens and I fall down flat on my face sometimes. This was drummed into my head by my Asian parents…

Asian%20Grading%20Curve

Anything less than an ‘A’ grade is considered an Asian ‘F’!